IHE / IHE News / Archived news / US Perspective on Nuclear Regulation in the 21st Century

US Perspective on Nuclear Regulation in the 21st Century

US Perspective on Nuclear Regulation in the 21st Century

We invite all interested to listen to the lecture "US Perspective on Nuclear Regulation in the 21st Century" by the Vice President of the US NRC Commissioner William C. Ostendorff.

The meeting will be held on Monday (10/20/2014) at 16:15 in room 105 ITC

The Honorable William C. Ostendorff was sworn in for a second term as a Commissioner of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) on July 7, 2011, to a term ending onJune 30, 2016. His first term was from April 1, 2010, to June 30, 2011.

Mr. Ostendorff has a distinguished career as an engineer, legal counsel, policy advisor, and naval officer. Before joining the NRC, Mr. Ostendorff served as the Director of the Committee on Science, Engineering and Public Policy and as Director of the Board on Global Science and Technology at the National Academies.

Mr. Ostendorff came to the National Academies after serving as Principal Deputy Administrator at the National Nuclear Security Administration from April 2007 until April 2009. From 2003 to 2007, he was a member of the staff of the House Armed Services Committee. There, he served as counsel and staff director for the Strategic Forces Subcommittee with oversight responsibilities for the Department of Energy's Atomic Energy Defense Activities as well as the Department of Defense's space, missile defense and intelligence programs.

Mr. Ostendorff was an officer in the United States Navy from 1976 until he retired in 2002 with the rank of Captain. During his naval career, he commanded an attack submarine, an attack submarine squadron and served as Director of the Division of Mathematics and Science at the United States Naval Academy.

Mr. Ostendorff earned a bachelor's degree in systems engineering from the United States Naval Academy and law degrees from the University of Texas and Georgetown University. He is a member of the State Bar of Texas.